Far Far Away from my Home, A Sad Consequences of Working Abroad

Long Distance

This picture was shot during the time I felt so bored and homesick in my room during my day-off, using my mobile phone I took an angle shot showing my landline phone and computer monitor with my kids’ picture. I also put some catchy quote I got from the internet stating “The more you suffer, the more it shows you really care” quite timing right.

Being apart from my family for one (1) year was indeed a difficult situation especially if you’re so close with one another. How will you handle yourself the moment you want to go home but it’s not possible because you’re knotted with contract and you must finish it, how about you if want to hug and kiss them (family) before they go to sleep or you want talk with them (family) without disturbing their siesta time; it’s hard right? I been working for almost 6 years far far away from my family, I left my older son at the age of 5 and now he’s 11 year-old and I’m counting the years I’m with my family starting from the day I worked abroad, guess how many year? Sadly, it was not even a year; it was just a six months.

Just for the sake of being a good provider and responsible father to my family, I sacrificed working miles miles away from them. I do have a choice to work in my country, but I cannot bear to see how miserable my family will be, if my salary is less than $150 or P5,000 every 15th and 30th days of the month.

I don’t regret with my present situation right now because I know that my wife is taking good care of my kids and were extending our hands to the needs of my wife’s parent and mine as well. During my day-off which is every Friday, I have enough and quality time to video chat my kids and my wife, all day. Aside from video chatting, I usually call them on their mobile and good news, some of the communication networks here in my place were providing a budget calls, and that’s a big help.

Nowadays reaching your family and friend from a distance is no longer a problem, we have a lot of mean to communicate with them. Thanks to all the smart people who invented internet, mobiles, laptops, and blogs.

When blogging became common habit to most of us who want to share their experiences, thoughts, opinions and talents; understanding different cultures and learning are no longer difficult, everybody wants to share their stories and everyone wants to read it, just like me. keep on sharing 😉 by the way, I love the place and my work right now, I don’t ask for more, I’m contented where I belong and just like you I still have more stories and experiences to share.

 

About Cool_Eyes (ChrisV)

Working progress in World of Blogging
Gallery | This entry was posted in Anecdote, Family, Notes, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Far Far Away from my Home, A Sad Consequences of Working Abroad

  1. redserpent42 says:

    un nga ang kalaban ng mga OFW eh, homesick.

  2. I also have a brother in UK. Salamat po sa mga tulad niyong OFW! Ingat po kayo lagi dian!

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I admire the sacrifice you’ve made for the lives of your family. I don’t think I could bear to be away from my family that long, but I am grateful that I have not had to make such a choice. Thank goodness for the internet and technology for helping to keep family bonds strong 🙂

  4. julio says:

    you are not alone i have the the same life style is very hard yo be in one place and your family in another.

  5. Being far away from family is difficult – thankfully there is Skype to make it a little more bearable! Merci, too, for visiting my blog.

  6. Wishing you all the best. Merci, too, for visiting 24/7 in France, author of “Solitary Desire-One Woman’s Journey to France” See video http://youtu.be/xG_YTa5sDac

  7. kimie says:

    hoping that you’ll have the strength to endure, and go on supporting your family.. its the sacrifice we make, as fathers, as ofws for our loved ones, i pray for you and your family’s safety..

  8. moirainori77 says:

    Ang hirap talaga ng buhay-OFW. Iba talaga ang sakripisyo ninyo. Maraming salamat po sa lahat, kasama na po ang blog post ninyo.

  9. vsvevg says:

    I admire your strength Chris, I wanted to stay and work in the US for a few months. We need the money and it would make life easier for my husband if he didn’t have to work outside of our farm. But I am so sad so far from him and my home and animals. I did find a short term job, so I will only be gone for 2 months and the money will help a little, but not as much as I hoped. I wish I were as selfless as you.

    • Thank you vsvevg, if I only have a choice or any other mean to support my family needs I rather want to stay in the Philippines but since I came from a poor family; working abroad is the only solution in my mind to earn more for them, I cannot do it if I will stay in my country. It’s sad but that’s the reality of life; one must sacrifice for the good of the majority. Again thanks for sharing your thoughts and feeling towards my post. Have a nice day and keep well.

  10. Glenda Mills says:

    I pray for the day you will be reunited with your family. Its great you can skype with them all day once a week. That’s a great way to keep your hearts in touch even when you can be there. Thanks for sharing. You’re a good writer!

    • Thank Glenda, in a weeks from now I will be reuniting with my family its my annual vacation this coming month 🙂 and thanks for saying I’m a good writer it really means a lot for me since I’m a frustrated writer. Keep well and God bless.

  11. Poor you! Poor wife and family for missing you. I hope things work out fo you to return soon.

  12. Nick Sanchez says:

    I admire OFWs and people like you Chris. My mom and dad were OFWs when I was a kid, and they only came home for the holidays. I remember the time when my mother called me on the phone back then, whenever she’d run out of coins the line would go dead. That was very disabling. It makes you miss them even more. But now, thanks to technology, you’d only miss the physical presence, which is the same I think. Being physically away is very difficult, but your noble cause, which is to ensure a bright future for your children makes up for it. 🙂 Long live OFWs and long live responsible fathers. God bless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

